Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content


​Currimundi Primary School offers a challenging and future oriented curriculum that focuses on preparing students to be lifelong learners. Our whole of school curriculum is across the 8 Key Learning Areas of English, Mathematics, Science, Studies of Society and the Environment, Technology, the Arts, Health and Physical Education and Languages Other Than English (LOTE) in Years 5 and 6.

Each student is supported and encouraged to become:

  • A knowledgeable person with a deep understanding
  • A complex thinker
  • A creative person
  • An active investigator
  • An effective communicator
  • A participant in an independent world and
  • A reflective and self-directed learner

Teachers at Currimundi Primary School have planned with the Head of Curriculum to become familiar with the new National Curriculum. In 2012, Queensland schools will plan, teach, assess and report English, Mathematics and Science across the year levels using the Australian Curriculum. Teachers will also have the opportunity to become familiar with the new P-10 History curriculum. Focus on the Queensland curriculum will be maintained for all other learning areas.

Literacy and Numeracy are recognised as the cornerstones of learning at Currimundi Primary School. Therefore, as well as addressing English and Mathematics within the key learning areas, time is also set aside within the school day for the teaching of Literacy and Numeracy routines.

These routines have been identified as, but are not limited to:

  • Number facts
  • Basic numeration skills
  • Spelling
  • Phonics (Soundwaves, Letterland)
  • Grammar Instruction
  • Punctuation Instruction